jewelry school – patience.. that’s what it comes to

July 18, 2008

Who would have thought that i could sit through hour upon hour of the same tedious activity..  well i am doing it … in jewelry school at the american jewelers institute.  I have to admit that the first few weeks of this adventure into the land of bench jewelerin was not what i would say pleasant.. Not only have i used every bad word in the book.. yes i currently tend to cuss like a sailor left to sea with little to eat and oh too much salty water… but i also continuously injure my sweet little self. If it isn’t the torch burning my arm hair then i accidently saw through the first few layers of what apparently is useless skin on my pointer finger.  Let’s not forget the numerous occasions when i have accidently set the bench mate on fire while focusing intensely on my ring, earring and or small piece of nothing that my teacher has forced me to practice with… It’s actually quite hilarious and i am currently in the market for a mini personal fire extinguisher that i can wear around my neck.. and or a really large supply of ice cold aloe vera gel.  

On that note.. things have gotten increasingly better as i continue to spend 8 hours a day 5 days a week cutting, sawing, hammering, soldering, fusing, rolling, stamping, punching, drilling, burning, redoing, cussing, laughing, throwing my various projects.  This school is a trade school and so we are being trained to make what you would find at any mall jewelry shop… this of course is not for me.. so i am taking these skills… did i say tedious.. and running with them. Hoping to create some pretty amazing and well crafted jewelry to sell, trade, share and hopefully satisfy most of all my forever pent-up artistic animal.

tools of the trade

tools of the trade

Tys home... my bench and the spot where I am learning Patience

Tys home... my bench and the spot where I am learning Patience

Petrified wood -- from a rock to a stone for a necklace.. magic

Petrified wood -- from a rock to a stone for a necklace.. magic

waiting for diamonds... conflict free of course

waiting for diamonds... conflict free of course

yeah more tools

yeah more tools

One Response to “jewelry school – patience.. that’s what it comes to”

  1. jessie said

    My heart skips a beat every time scroll past that Davis pendant. It is so cute, I can’t handle it. How amazing that you are making these gorgeous things. You can do anything your heart desires Ty.. look at you all the way up there in P town with a sweet little place and learning a trade that you love. Not to mention the patience… we are proud of you here at the bell household.

Leave a Reply

