i desperately need…

September 9, 2008

a mini- around the neck fire extinguisher and an extra large supply of aloe vera gel. 

 

It never fails. Just when i think i have got this whole jewelry gig down i become my alter ego … Ty the damager. Usually when this happens it starts slowly and then i snowball causing physical harm to not only my jewelry but any appendage i have not managed to hide from the flame in question.

It’s quite ridiculous actually. In one day, Friday, i managed to somehow burn the hell outta my arm with the mini rubber chicken i am casting into one fancy chicken army.(yes, more about this feat of artistic brilliance at another time.)  If i actually took fabulous photos i would show you all proof that a cooked chicken was in the vecinity of my forearm. Don’t laugh too hard but yes i will forever have a plucked chicken scar on my arm now.  Guess I can cross that off my tattoo list. 

Within minutes i became side tracked by the never-ending banter and chatter that invades my intensely needed quiet time at the jewelry studio, and somehow managed to put my sweet little pinky finger in the line of fire quite literally. You have no idea what pain is until you burn the padding of your pinky while trying to solder a tiny little bezel on an oh so uncooperative pendant. At this point i have used my supply of aloe vera rations for the day and am now forced to submerse my wound in an ice bath..wah wah. As i tend my wound i start to question what i was even thinking joining this hazardous career path. Didn’t I remember the part about my personality that is accident prone. 

 

mini-aloe_vera_400×371.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

With the pinky and forearm bandaged nicely i decide that the flames are way to hot for me on this day and head back to my bench to focus on something a bit less dangerous.  It is 2:00 at this point and i have spent most of my day either cussing with a vengence, throwing my melted pendants and bezels and last as mentioned above nursing my wounds. Mainly my ego has been shot to hell and i know that sanding and polishing is probably the most healing and safe venture for now.  Within i kid you not five minutes i have somehow managed to sand right through my thumb with my flex shaft and i am bleeding all over the gold ring I have worked for weeks to finish.

Yes, i called it quits at this point and headed right over to my new favoritest hair salon called Modish where i spoiled myself with a new cut and outrageously bright highlights. Nothing like a new do to end an all around dead end day!

 

Beehive

4 Responses to “i desperately need…”

  1. jessie said

    You are so funny. Be careful, girl… you’re gonna need those hands. I’m glad you are back in blog world.

    Love you.

  2. D said

    Almost heaven, West Virginia
    Blue ridge mountains, Shenandoah river
    Life is old there, older than the trees
    Younger than the mountains, blowing like a breeze

    Country roads, take me home
    To the place, I belong
    West Virginia, mountain momma
    Take me home, country roads

    All my memries, gather round her
    Miners lady, stranger to blue water
    Dark and dusty, painted on the sky
    Misty taste of moonshine, teardrop in my eye

    Country roads, take me home
    To the place, I be-long
    West Virginia, mountain momma
    Take me home, country roads

    I hear her voice, in the mornin hours she calls to me
    The radio reminds me of my home far away
    And drivin down the road I get a feeling
    That I should have been home yesterday, yesterday

    Country roads, take me home
    To the place, I be-long
    West Virginia, mountain momma
    Take me home, country roads

  3. jahn said

    i totally sympathize with your jewelry efforts!
    i love making jewellery and other design stuff, and i dont think i’ve made a single thing without injuring myself or the piece in the process.
    i have been checking out the american jewelers institute online, and want to take their 4month course. i would really appreciate it if you could give me your opinions on the place- how thorough is the teaching; are all aspects of metalsmithing taught, or are some taught only in theory; is there more of repair work than actual crafting from raw materials; will the course equip one to become an individual practising designer-maker?
    i’m from india, so there’s no way i can check out the institute, and havent found too much real info online, so would be grateful for your help.
    thanks:-)

  4. ty said

    i sent you an email to the address that came up on my phone let me know if you didn’t get it.

Leave a Reply

